Simple tutorials

Discussion of Inner Space

Moderators: Lavish Software Team, Moderators

Post Reply
freese
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 10:21 pm

Simple tutorials

Post by freese » Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:42 am

Are there any simple tutorials on how to get IS up and running? I saw the stuff in the wiki on how to add a game, but it's not enough information to actually do something useful. I can get a game up an running in an IS session, but that's about as far as the documentation goes. How can I do something useful such as moving the mouse, finding my map coordinates or inserting keystrokes?

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Mon Oct 22, 2007 1:42 pm

Err... "how to get IS up and running" you apparently already figured out how to do. It's simple enough to launch the game. Problem is, now you're asking about the technical parts, and something very specific within those technical parts, which most of the current customers don't need to use, so to me that falls outside the range of how to get IS up and running. The simple tutorial for that is, Add Game if necessary, then launch the game.

As far as finding your map coordinates, that is highly game specific. Inner Space doesn't have a magic button you can push to get coordinates in any game. If I knew what game you were attempting, I might be able to give you some suggestions for that.

If you want to emulate mouse or keyboard, and note that depending on the game this may not be necessary, you can use various input commands, listed here: http://www.lavishsoft.com/wiki/index.ph ... ands#Input

The Type, Press, MouseTo, and MouseClick commands are what you're presumably looking for.

Type will type a sequence of alpha-numerics, and is used like so:

Code: Select all

Type "Hello my name is Joe"
Press will press and release (or just press, or just release) any key or combination of keys, and can be used like so:

Code: Select all

Press enter
press esc
press alt+1
press shift+alt+2
a list of keys can be viewed with press -keylist

MouseTo is pretty simple, give it coordinates based on the game window (i.e. 0,0 will always be the top left corner of the game display, not of your windows desktop), and can be used like so:

Code: Select all

MouseTo 0,0
MouseTo 400,200
MouseClick is like Press, except for mouse. it will press and release (or just press, or just release) the left or right mouse buttons. It can be sued like so:

Code: Select all

MouseClick left
MouseClick right

freese
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 10:21 pm

Post by freese » Mon Oct 22, 2007 3:12 pm

heh, I guess I have a habit of doing that. My eventual goal is to write a bot for Ragnarok Online 2 for IS, but I need to learn the basics first.

I found a lot more useful information on the wiki, but one thing I'm still unclear about, is the difference between lavish scripting and extensions. I know that extensions can add features to IS, and are usually in the form of a compiled DLL, but other than that, what are the differences between an extension and a script?

freese
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 10:21 pm

Post by freese » Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:31 am

Ok, I think I figured out my last question, but I'm still having a bit of trouble getting IS to work. I've tried in battlefield 2 and Ragnarok 2. IS launches the game, but I can't pull up the IS console. Is there anything special that needs to happen in order to be able to pull up the IS console in game?

Blue
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:24 am

Post by Blue » Tue Oct 23, 2007 9:13 am

The default key to bring up the console is ` (backquote, on the same key as tilde ~ ) ... you can rebind this to something else if you prefer.

freese
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 10:21 pm

Post by freese » Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:17 pm

I tried the ` key. It will bring up the console in uplink window, but it won't in game. It should be able to pull it up in game right?

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:48 am

It sounds like the games may not work correctly with Inner Space. BF2 hasnt been tested in over 2 years. Since then, the game has undoubtedly been patched, and may have protection against things like Inner Space.

Ragnarok 2 I'm not sure I can even test, unfortunately.

When you launch a game, if you haven't changed Inner Space settings to prevent this, you should see FPS and Memory indicators (it's white text, same as the bottom left of the Uplink, you can't really miss it) in the upper left corner of the game's 3D display. If you do not see that, then the key to bring up the console definitely will not work (or if it does, you just wont see it), and you know that Inner Space is not working correctly for that game, which can then be reported to me and the problem should hopefully get fixed.

freese
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 10:21 pm

Post by freese » Wed Oct 24, 2007 3:37 pm

Yeah, it doesn't quite work =(. The FPS indicator does not show up either.

RO2 is in the Korean open beta right now, so it's not too hard to download the client and make an account. Let me know and I can send you links where to do that.

Thanks!

Post Reply