EQPN + WinXP

EQPlayNice Lite discussion

Moderators: Lavish Software Team, Moderators

Weatherwax
GamingTools Subscriber

EQPN + WinXP

Post by Weatherwax » Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:04 pm

I'm fairly new to EQPN. I switched from EQW to EQPN + WinEQ under Win2K a few weeks back, and I love it.

But. Yesterday I picked up a new notebook (old one - long story - suffice it to say the only way I could log in was using VNC from another machine), and of course it's XP. Using EQPN plus WinEQ now everything runs in spurts... my bard will zoom for 2 seconds, then crawl at a walk for 10, then zoom again. Melee is like bullet time, all of the actions are in slow motion.

Dumping EQPN and running WinEQ is acceptable, but I'm sure that as I start adding a couple more models I'll get into the usual 2-EQ-sessions lag problem.

Is there anything I can do to run EQPN reliably under WinXP?

Lax
Owner

Post by Lax » Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:08 pm

99% of my testing and probably 75% of users all use Windows XP. Additionally, many people are using Windows XP laptops with EQPN + WinEQ. I would be hesitant to blame it on Windows XP in particular, or even EQPN or WinEQ.

I would actually make sure your notebook has the latest drivers for its video, as typically they do not have the best drivers out of the factory. Perhaps some other users will have some recommendations for you, but I can tell you with confidence that many people have systems similar to yours without problems.

What model is your laptop? It might help to know its specs (video card for example) to give the best recommendations for your situation. Also, make sure to grab WinEQ 1.16 and turn on the memory indicator. If either the video or system memory are low, this may be all or part of the problem.

Weatherwax
GamingTools Subscriber

Post by Weatherwax » Sun Jul 25, 2004 10:31 am

Interesting. I did try to update the video driver, but not because of EQPlayNice, just because I know drivers are the biggest headache for EQ itself...