Invisible application bug

Discussion of Inner Space

Moderators: Lavish Software Team, Moderators

Post Reply
Gray
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:58 pm

Invisible application bug

Post by Gray » Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:20 pm

EVE Online had an ugly habit to close and reopen its client on every disconnect (which, indeed, closes every application launched from it as well). Of course, I can add this application launch to IS startup, and it really launches... but it stays invisible, and thus unaccessible (even though it can do some automated actions, and its main form "Visible" property is set to "true"). There is a workaround, which I've already found: type "dotnet -unload appname", and then relaunch it - it starts up visible then, and everything is OK. The trick is to automate it, though...

1) When I put a line of
"dotnet appname"
in IS startup confuguration for EVE, it launches new application instance automatically, but it stays invisible, much as if I've lanuched it manually.

2) When I put two lines:
"dotnet -unload appname"
"dotnet appname"
- it really unloads an old instance, but it doesn't launch a new ones (i.e. second command is not executed). Manual load works correctly after that (i.e. application launches and it is visible).

I'm out of ideas... how to make it to relaunch both EVE *and* custom application automatically?

How to reproduce the bug:
- launch IS
- launch EVE from it
- open console, launch any application by "dotnet appname"
- log in EVE (trial account works as well)
- imitate disconnect: esc -> log off (it relaunches the game window shortly after that, about 10-15 secs)
- open console, try to launch application again - it launches, but stays hidden.

Gray
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:58 pm

Post by Gray » Sun May 01, 2011 5:27 pm

Well... ughm... Lax? Can you answer at least something? Like "looking into it", or "short on time, gotta look into it at ...", or "can't reproduce", or even "not a bug"? Just to give us any hope...

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Sun May 01, 2011 5:37 pm

I don't know why EVE's restart would operate any differently than when it is initially launched. That is what you are saying, right?

Have you tried putting a delay before your app runs? example:

Code: Select all

timedcommand 100 dotnet whatever

Gray
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:58 pm

Post by Gray » Mon May 02, 2011 1:48 pm

Lax wrote:I don't know why EVE's restart would operate any differently than when it is initially launched. That is what you are saying, right?
Right. Probably, that's because it is actually RElaunch - i.e. there are some "leftovers" in memory, which make IS display applications incorrectly...

But yes, with delay unload and reload works like a charm, thanks! Btw, did I get it right: "timedcommand" parameter is in deciseconds?

Post Reply