Lavish problems with .Net

Discussion of Inner Space

Moderators: Lavish Software Team, Moderators

Post Reply
MstrGareth
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 5:25 pm

Lavish problems with .Net

Post by MstrGareth » Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:03 pm

Heyas,

I just anted to point out a few problems while using the .Net wrapper for lavish components (within Vanguard).

1) Adding custom commands causes crashes when the commands are issued from within the client. This forces the developer to use GUI controls for anything interactice forcing the user to always use windowed mode.

2) Lavish Nav region lookups randomly returns corrupted region names.

2) Lavish Nav path generation tends to return truncated paths. I am guessing this is related to corrupted region names and it stops path generation when it runs across the bad region name.

Thanks.

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:24 am

1) Adding custom commands causes crashes when the commands are issued from within the client. This forces the developer to use GUI controls for anything interactice forcing the user to always use windowed mode.
Yeah, I need to fix adding commands. However, there is nothing particularly forcing anyone to use WinForms and the user to be in windowed mode. There is no error like this with events, so for example, a script can be run that provides the commands (global or globalkeep atoms) and translates them to LavishScript events, which the .NET app can use just fine.
2) Lavish Nav region lookups randomly returns corrupted region names.

2) Lavish Nav path generation tends to return truncated paths. I am guessing this is related to corrupted region names and it stops path generation when it runs across the bad region name.
This is an interesting issue (or issues), because there is a LOT of .NET development for World of Warcraft, with lots of LavishNav usage, and the same issue has not been reported. So I'm not really sure where this issue would be originating, maybe people using it for Vanguard are doing something completely different than the people using it for World of Warcraft.

The bottom line is I need a code sample for this one. More specifically, a proof of concept code sample, small enough that I don't need to know anything about Vanguard, but enough that it demonstrates the bug -- ideally if this has nothing to do with ISXVG or Vanguard, then the bug can be demonstrated by running the .net app in the IS Uplink. If I were to be the one writing this code, there's a good chance that I'm inadvertently avoiding whatever it is that you're having trouble with, and that basically just leads down the path of never getting the bug fixed because I have no way of reproducing it. So.. if you can provide me with a small .net app that demonstrates this bug, I can definitely fix it. If not, then I've got nowhere to even start. Also, it typically doesn't help if you just send me an existing vanguard bot, since then I have to go find a vanguard character, figure out how to operate the bot, sit around while I wait for the bug, and so on. But if it comes to that, I can at least review the code and see if there's anything that I wasn't expecting.

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:52 am

Ok note on the commands issue, I just put up a fix for this in the Development build of Inner Space, which you can switch to by checking the "Download Development Patches" box in the IS Patcher window, and restarting IS.

MstrGareth
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 5:25 pm

Post by MstrGareth » Fri Mar 07, 2008 6:05 pm

Thanks alot :)

As for the Nav issue, I will try to throw something workable together to test with. In the meantime there is a little more info at the following link. The code usage is very basic, just a region lookup for the current loc in the current chunk (zone). The sample was generated without moving so the same region should be returned on each call.

http://www.isxgames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1613

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:40 am

I don't think I need a sample anymore, responded on that thread.

MstrGareth
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 5:25 pm

Post by MstrGareth » Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:18 pm

Thanks, that was very helpful.

I was not aware of the need for frame locking in instances were we are not accessing the game specific extentions. Now that has been covered it makes a lot more sense.

Post Reply