Uplink Relay and .Net

Discussion of Inner Space

Moderators: Lavish Software Team, Moderators

Post Reply
eaglepigjim
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:20 am

Uplink Relay and .Net

Post by eaglepigjim » Tue May 08, 2007 12:59 pm

Is it possible to use the RemoteUplink and Relay in .Net apps?

If so does anyone have any example code to allow 2 PCs to connect and then send commands to each other?

I've gotten all this working in Lavishscript but would prefer to use C# as I use it every day at work.

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Tue May 08, 2007 1:10 pm

If you're coding in .NET, you really dont need remoteuplink or relay. Google for .NET remoting

eaglepigjim
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:20 am

Post by eaglepigjim » Tue May 08, 2007 3:25 pm

I havent used remoting before, and only having 1 hour a night or so to do this I was hoping there was some built in support like the uplink relay.

On a sort of related issue, I found your example here
http://www.isxwow.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=1904#p1904
for how to register events and execute them from lavishscript. Is there a way to do that using uplink relay on a remote client?

I'm currently using:

Code: Select all

uplink relay all Script[MyScript]:ExecuteAtom[MyFunc]
Would it just be?:

Code: Select all

uplink relay all Event["Boobies:Some Action"]:Execute[foo,bar]
Thanks for your help and a great product
J

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Thu May 10, 2007 11:33 am

Well, it's not about "using remote uplink and relay" in .net apps. You use them in IS via LavishScript, and you can do the same thing in your .net app if you want. Just execute a command.

The "uplink" command is no longer necessary for relaying if you're in a session. Just relay will do, it's a command in sessions now. And sure,

Code: Select all

relay all Event["Boobies:Some Action"]:Execute[foo,bar]
should work just fine.

Post Reply