Error Message 1017

WinEQ 2.0 Pro discussion and support

Moderators: Lavish Software Team, Moderators

Post Reply
Scourge89
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:40 am

Error Message 1017

Post by Scourge89 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:09 am

Since the patch yesterday, I have been unable to login through Wineq. When I select the server (test) it gives me error 1017 "Cannot login to everquest server. You may need to re-run the Update Patch. Repeatedly seeing this message indicates a loss of connectivity to the Patch Server. This is usually temporary." Well, I have been able to login through the sony Launchpad and through Innerspace. I've unistalled Wineq and tried again getting the same message, rebooted pc and router.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
Thanks

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6632
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:11 am

Are you sure you don't have multiple installs of EverQuest?

I might be inclined to try enabling WinEQ 2's Patch option in your profile, to make sure the right one for WinEQ 2 is getting patched.

Scourge89
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:40 am

Post by Scourge89 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:20 am

I only have one install of Everquest, and I don't see an option anywhere in WinEQ's preferences to have it run through the patcher

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6632
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:28 am

Scourge89 wrote:I only have one install of Everquest, and I don't see an option anywhere in WinEQ's preferences to have it run through the patcher
The option is under EverQuest, Profiles. Select your Profile there (that you're launching) and it should have a Patch option

Scourge89
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:40 am

Post by Scourge89 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:43 am

Here are the options in the profile section of preferences

Name
Window Title
Everquest Path
EQClient.ini
Default Preset
Sound
Monitor
Test/Beta Server
Global Activation Hotkey
Preferred Tile
Foreground Tile Scale
Background Tile Scale
Picture-in-Picture
PIP X Position
PIP Y Position
PIP Scale
PIP Border
Locale

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6632
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:28 pm

Okay looks like you're right, the Patch option is not currently available as it needs work.

There is no known reason why you would get this issue though if not for needing to patch the EQ that WinEQ 2 is running. Open up the EQ folder pointed to in your WinEQ 2 profile and run the patcher in it?

Scourge89
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:40 am

Post by Scourge89 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:37 pm

I ran Launchpad.exe in the directory that WinEQ 2 is pointed to and it has already been fully updated and it's build is "test" (which is the server I play on). Like I said, Innerspace/ISBoxer lets me log in and the actual Launchpad let's me log in, so it seems to me that the problem lies within WinEQ =(

Scourge89
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:40 am

Post by Scourge89 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:03 pm

Ok, I did another Full uninstall/install of WinEQ 2 and now it's working /boggle.

Thanks for the help

Scourge89
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:40 am

Post by Scourge89 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:09 pm

Actually, I think I stumbled onto the problem. After installing WinEQ 2 again, I launched a default profile and it let me log in. I then set up a profile and I changed the "Test/Beta Server" option from normal to test (which is what I've always had to do as far as I can remember) and I got the same error message. I changed that setting back to "normal" and now it let me log in.

Maybe this will help (or I'm just and idiot lol)

Post Reply