All words are distorted on resizing

WinEQ 2.0 Pro discussion and support

Moderators: Lavish Software Team, Moderators

JohnTremere
GamingTools Subscriber

All words are distorted on resizing

Post by JohnTremere » Sat Nov 19, 2011 6:50 pm

I have 2 machines on win xp that I upgrade to windows home premium, I can read the fonts and words fine in fullscreen, when i drag to resize smaller they all distorted and messed up looking you can make anything out. I have a pro subscription. My resolution size matches my desktop, normalise has been toggled on and and off and so has windowd and fullscreen on the eq side. the only difference in both these machines running wineq 2.15 pro was windows 7.. anyone know whats going on?

Lax
Owner

Post by Lax » Sun Nov 20, 2011 7:32 am

Someone recently made nearly this exact same claim regarding EVE Online, Windows XP vs 7, using ISBoxer rather than WinEQ 2. (For reference: http://isboxer.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=6901)

But I don't have enough information to specifically answer your question as to how you managed to make it look different in XP than in Windows 7. Or his.

The thing is, when you shrink the window it's losing pixels. If you want a shrunk window and no lost pixels, you need the game's resolution to match the window size. You can't tell the game to render full screen, and then shrink it from full screen, and expect it to not lose any information. If I had to guess, your EQ resolution probably matched the WinEQ 2 window size under XP, and it doesn't under Windows 7, and making it match will probably solve the problem.

JohnTremere
GamingTools Subscriber

Post by JohnTremere » Sun Nov 20, 2011 7:41 am

Thanks for the link laax, yes the problem is id is extremly similar if not dead on.. but i still dont understand how xp was able to resize without changin my resolution with clear legible font and win 7 does not.