Wiki :: Search :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in
GamingTools Subscription: Not logged in
EQMac for pc

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lavish Software Forum Index -> GamingTools Public::WinEQ 2.0 Lite
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
civenge

 

Rank: GamingTools Subscriber

Joined: 08 Jul 2012

Posts: 3

Post subject: EQMac for pc
Reply with quote
Is there a way to get wineq2 to run on EQMac for PC? Every time I launch the game, it tries to load full screen then crashes with a memory error. It launches fine via eqw in a windowed mode, but being eqw locks you in the window and alt-tab trying to multi box is not a good option.

Just to clarify, I am on windows 7 on a PC, just trying to get this to work so I can play on the Al'Kabor server.
PostTue Jul 10, 2012 10:47 am
View user's profile Send private message
Lax

 

Rank: Owner

Joined: 18 Jun 2004

Posts: 6507

Post subject:
Reply with quote
EQMac is running a version of EverQuest that is too old to be used with the current version of WinEQ 2, or ISBoxer for that matter.

It's not EQW locking you into the window, it's EQ -- this version of EverQuest comes before they changed to using the hardware cursor! Sad This means that the cursor you see in the game is not the same as the Windows cursor (thus the requirement of a Hotkey to capture or release the Windows cursor). Even if I were to get it working under ISBoxer, using mouse broadcasting would be unreliable without constantly dragging the mouse into a corner (to get the cursors in the same place in each window) or using hacks.

WinEQ 1.38 could potentially work with it (including the capture/release hotkey), but it's not quite the same as WinEQ 2.
http://www.lavishsoft.com/downloads/Lavish.WinEQ.1.38.exe
PostTue Jul 10, 2012 12:37 pm
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
civenge

 

Rank: GamingTools Subscriber

Joined: 08 Jul 2012

Posts: 3

Post subject:
Reply with quote
Thanks, I'll give that a shot. I'm hoping it may also solve the memory issue/crash when launching the game. I just want to be able to quickly switch to any of 6 characters just by clicking in that window, or hitting a hot key.

As to the old eq client, eq locked at PoP is awesome. One of my favorite expansions. After that it just seems like they added too much grinding without much innovation..
PostTue Jul 10, 2012 3:24 pm
View user's profile Send private message
civenge

 

Rank: GamingTools Subscriber

Joined: 08 Jul 2012

Posts: 3

Post subject:
Reply with quote
Sad Doesn't work. It launches the game to a solid black full screen, flickers a few times, then closes. No memory error or anything, just closes.
PostTue Jul 10, 2012 11:43 pm
View user's profile Send private message
ironmaiden

 

Rank: Non-Subscriber

Joined: 01 Jul 2005

Posts: 2

Post subject:
Reply with quote
If lax gets either wineq 1 or 2 working for eqmac on pc let me know I'll sub for a year+. EQW is driving me insane with how buggy it is on not releasing the mouse in win7.
PostSun Dec 30, 2012 10:57 am
View user's profile Send private message
Lax

 

Rank: Owner

Joined: 18 Jun 2004

Posts: 6507

Post subject:
Reply with quote
Have you tried EQLindows? It is a 100% free clone of EQWindows, but updated. Written and distributed by me.
PostSun Dec 30, 2012 11:44 am
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ironmaiden

 

Rank: Non-Subscriber

Joined: 01 Jul 2005

Posts: 2

Post subject:
Reply with quote
I tried it recently but I get and error that just says "CreateWindowEx failed!". From what I remember EQLindows didn't function on vista/win7 though right? So might be a solution for WinXP users.
PostSun Dec 30, 2012 1:33 pm
View user's profile Send private message
theforbidden112

 

Rank: GamingTools Subscriber

Joined: 29 Dec 2012

Posts: 1

Post subject:
Reply with quote
Lax wrote:
Have you tried EQLindows? It is a 100% free clone of EQWindows, but updated. Written and distributed by me.



hi Lax, how are you and happy new year. This is Alexander here. I am having alot of trouble getting Innerspace and Isboxer to work. I am not really a computer wizz and I really would like it if you can help me. I already have a subscription with it but havent been able to use it yet, Thanks.
PostSun Feb 03, 2013 4:22 am
View user's profile Send private message
Trigger

 

Rank: Non-Subscriber

Joined: 03 Sep 2004

Posts: 1

Post subject:
Reply with quote
i would also happily pay for a subscription if there was something other than EQW 2.32 to use

i constantly get stuck keys, and as a result get characters moving forward or spinning around, and pressing the ESC key (losing target, closing bags, closing trade windows) etc

i dont need advanced functionality, just something that will run EQMac in a Window - so either WinEQ v1.x or EQLindows , or anything...

please help
PostFri Apr 12, 2013 1:41 am
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Lavish Software Forum Index -> GamingTools Public::WinEQ 2.0 Lite All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2002 phpBB Group