EQ1: Mouse pointer is "off" when I modify WindowCh

Discussion of Inner Space

Moderators: Lavish Software Team, Moderators

Reverage
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:26 pm

EQ1: Mouse pointer is "off" when I modify WindowCh

Post by Reverage » Tue Sep 21, 2010 4:49 pm

I have a macro I hit once EQ 1 starts loading. The positioning from the .ini file is wrong (and perhaps the window size, I've never been able to get it right), so I made a macro to "fix" it.

Well, since I got home from work today (it worked fine last night), once I hit my macro:

WindowCharacteristics -size "1920x1172" -pos "0,0" -frame "none" -lock

It seems that the mouse remembers the original size/position of my EQ screen. When I try & mouse over the ACCEPT (EULA button), it becomes obvious because it highlights the button when my mouse isn't even over it.

Going to attempt to fix the position in whatever .ini file is being used, but I seem to recall tryring this before, and never being able to get it right.

I am using the development releases (since this fixed a previous crash I was having).

Reverage
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:26 pm

Post by Reverage » Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:08 pm

Couldn't fix it by editing the eqclient.ini (yes, i was editing the correct one that gets "linked" to the character(s) I was having issues with).

So, I turned off Development patches (since 1.11 was saying something about fixing cursor positions in games).

Problem is gone. So, something in 1.11 is affecting the cursor position in EQ1, unfortunately. Sorry for the news Lax. =\

Reverage
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:26 pm

Post by Reverage » Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:15 pm

Something else I noticed in 1.11, that isn't happening in 1.10.

My switch window key (GlobalBind is1_key ctrl+1 "WindowVisibility foreground"), control+2 for second char & control+3 for third, control was sticky. What I mean is, when I switched from window to window 2 (by pressing Control+2), the next key I hit (letting go of Control 2 obviously before I do anything), thinks I am still pressing Control.

Just an FYI. :)

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:07 am

The current dev build is getting lots of experimental changes to try to fix various problems. So yeah, there's a few loose ends ;)

Thanks for the info, I'll take care of it.

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:22 am

Build 5284 is up now. Please give it a shot and make sure these issues are now gone. Thanks :)

Reverage
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:26 pm

Post by Reverage » Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:39 pm

Thank you sir!

Will do when I get home from work.

Reverage
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:26 pm

Post by Reverage » Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:10 pm

Logging in now.

I resized my original window and the mouse cursor seems correct now. :)

Control no longer seems "sticky" as well (when switching my windows/chars). Tried 3 or 4 times. Thanks!

Reverage
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:26 pm

Post by Reverage » Wed Sep 22, 2010 6:54 pm

Doh, not so fast. :(

I am getting "distortion" now on my fonts. I don't think I did before, not enough that I noticed at least.

WindowScale is now 100.6%. Resolution is 1920x1172, no frame, positioned at 0,0.

When I did a WindowCharacteristic -size fullscreen, it filled my screen as expected, but then the location of the cursor was "off" again.

Reverage
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:26 pm

Post by Reverage » Wed Sep 22, 2010 7:10 pm

Ok, back to the 1.10 version.

Exact same settings (1920x1172), pos at 0,0, frame none, and my WindowScale is 100.0. No font distortion. Weird.

Applicable part of my eqclient.ini:

Code: Select all

[VideoMode]
Width=640
Height=480
FullscreenRefreshRate=0
FullscreenBitsPerPixel=32
WindowedWidth=1920
WindowedHeight=1172
WinEQWidth=1920
WinEQHeight=1172

Reverage
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:26 pm

Post by Reverage » Wed Sep 22, 2010 7:16 pm

Native resolution of the monitor is 1920x1200.

In-game resolution is (windowed of course) 1920x1172.

Basically, I am trying to hide the frame, and have pretty much fullscreen but being able to see the taskbar (Windows 7, 64 bit).

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:05 pm

Try adding -viewable to your size and position

Code: Select all

WindowCharacteristics -size -viewable 1920x1172 -pos -viewable 0,0 -frame none -lock
I'll do some more testing to see what's going wrong here. Thanks

Reverage
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:26 pm

Post by Reverage » Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:09 pm

Ok, here`s my latest.

I updated my macro to what you reocmmended:

Code: Select all

WindowCharacteristics -size -viewable 1920x1172 -pos -viewable 0,0 -frame none -lock
At the login/EULA screen, when I hit this, the cursor positioning was perfect.

Once in game, cursor positioning was still perfect.
The text is slightly distorted.

Various stats:
Window Position: 0,0
Current Window Scale: 100.3%
Window Size: 1920x1172 (Viewable: 1920x1172)

Out of curiousity, I tried this:

Code: Select all

WindowCharacteristics -size -viewable fullscreen -pos -viewable 0,0 -frame none -lock
The cursor is now off on buttons.
Text is slightly distorted.

Window Position: 0,0
Current Window Scale: 100.3%
Window Size: 1920x1200 (Viewable: 1920x1200)

Hmm, I wonder what window size I get if I want non-distorted text? I type:

Code: Select all

Window Scale 100
Cursor positioning is good again.
Text is perfect.
Window Position: 0,0
Current Window Scale: 100.0%
Window Size: 1914x1144 (Viewable: 1914x1144)

No clue what this tells me, maybe it will be helpful for you Lax. Will check in tomorrow.

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:08 am

Well, an important command to see the output from is "displayinfo", which will show things like:

Code: Select all

Adapter resolution: 1680x1050
Current display mode: 1670x1001 (windowed)
Window viewable size: 1670x1001
Display Scale: 100.0%x100.0%, Distortion: 0.0%

Code: Select all

Adapter resolution: 1680x1050
Current display mode: 1680x1050 (full screen)

Code: Select all

Adapter resolution: 1680x1050
Current display mode: 1680x1050 (forced window)
Window viewable size: 1680x1050
Display Scale: 100.0%x100.0%, Distortion: 0.0%
It would help me to see the Current display mode and Window viewable size lines in particular. I'm going to be trying to reproduce this right now but if I can't then that information will help a lot ;)

Reverage
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:26 pm

Post by Reverage » Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:56 pm

At EULA, before hitting resize/position/kill frame hotkey (mentioned below).

1.10:

Code: Select all

Adapter resolution: 1920x1200
Current display mode: 1908x1116 (windowed)
Window viewable size: 1908x1116
Display Scale: 100.0%x100.0%, Distortion: 0.0%

Window Position: -4,-25
Window Size: 1914x1144 (Viewable: 1908x1116)
1.11:

Code: Select all

Adapter resolution: 1920x1200
Current display mode: 1902x1088 (windowed)
Window viewable size: 1902x1088
Display Scale: 100.0%x100.0%, Distortion: 0.0%

Window Position: -4,-25
Window Size: 1908x1116 (Viewable: 1902x1088)

After hitting my hotkey.
WindowCharacteristics -size -viewable 1920x1172 -pos -viewable 0,0 -frame none -lock

1.10:

Code: Select all

Adapter resolution: 1920x1200
Current display mode: 1908x1172 (windowed)
Window viewable size: 1920x1172
Display Scale: 100.0%x100.0%, Distortion: 0.0%

Window Position: 0,0
Window Size: 1920x1172 (Viewable: 1920x1172)
1.11:

Code: Select all

Adapter resolution: 1920x1200
Current display mode: 1902x1088 (windowed)
Window viewable size: 1920x1172
Display Scale: 100.9%x107.7%, Distortion: 6.8%

Window Position: 0,0
WindowSize: 1920x1172 (Viewable: 1920x1172)
*** SUSPICIOUS: My macro didn't change the "Current display mode" according to the displayinfo command.


Testing fullscreen.
WindowCharacteristics -size -viewable fullscreen -pos -viewable 0,0 -frame none -lock

1.10:

Code: Select all

Adapter resolution: 1920x1200
Current display mode: 1908x1172 (windowed)
Window viewable size: 1920x1200
Display Scale: 100.0%x102.4%, Distortion: 2.4%

Window Position: 0,0
Window Size: 1920x1200 (Viewable: 1920x1200)
1.11:

Code: Select all

Adapter resolution: 1920x1200
Current display mode: 1902x1088 (windowed)
Window viewable size: 1920x1200
Display Scale: 100.9%x110.3%, Distortion: 9.3%

Window Position: 0,0
Window Size: 1920x1200 (Viewable: 1920x1200)

Testing 0 distortion.
WindowScale 100

1.10:

Code: Select all

Adapter resolution: 1920x1200
Current display mode: 1920x1172 (windowed)
Window viewable size: 1920x1172
Display Scale: 100.0%x100.0%, Distortion: 0.0%

Window Position: 0,0
Window Size: 1920x1172 (Viewable: 1920x1172)
1.11:

Code: Select all

Adapter resolution: 1920x1200
Current display mode: 1902x1088 (windowed)
Window viewable size: 1902x1088
Display Scale: 100.0%x100.0%, Distortion: 0.0%

Window Position: 0,0
Window Size: 1902x1088 (Viewable: 1902x1088)

Reverage
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:26 pm

Post by Reverage » Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:20 pm

Every time I login, my Current display mode: gets smaller. Cute.

Post Reply