ini files

Discussion of Inner Space

Moderators: Lavish Software Team, Moderators

eolewis
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 7:18 am

ini files

Post by eolewis » Fri Feb 11, 2005 12:10 am

how does one set up IS to run off alternate ini profiles for Everquest

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Fri Feb 11, 2005 12:25 am

Glad you asked. It's actually built in by default with a clean installation. In the PreInit sequence, the FileRedirect and INIRedirect commands are used to redirect basic file i/o and ini i/o. Here's what happens in the default PreInit.iss:

Code: Select all

    FileRedirect eqlsPlayerData.ini "eqlsPlayerData-${Profile}.ini"
    INIRedirect eqclient.ini * * "eqclient-${Profile}.ini" * *
So the eqclient.ini file that gets used by default is actually
eqclient-EverQuest Default Profile.ini
and each profile you create automatically uses one with a similar name because of the ${Profile}

There's ways to set it up per profile to use something else. For example, you could comment out (or remove) the INIRedirect line in PreInit.iss, and instead in the Profile settings (through the Games window) for each profile, type out the entire line (or paste and edit it) with the file you want, and save it. Like so:
INIRedirect eqclient.ini * * "eqclient-eolewis.ini" * *

Yet another way would be to use a switch in the PreInit script, but that would make it look too complicated and I'll just explain that if you ask about it ;)

eolewis
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 7:18 am

Post by eolewis » Fri Feb 11, 2005 12:36 am

okies... now explain it as you would to a 5 year old?... that all went astronomically over my head...

eolewis
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 7:18 am

Post by eolewis » Fri Feb 11, 2005 12:38 am

Trying to get this set up so I can try the VC function of IS... even though without it, I still can't figure out how to start it, but thats a different matter... hehehe

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Fri Feb 11, 2005 12:53 am

Alternatives:
1. Do nothing, and eqclient-EverQuest Default Profile.ini is used already
2. Edit PreInit.iss, delete the INIRedirect line in it, and put that same line in your EverQuest profiles for the "PreInit" setting, changing the last part of it to be the file you want to use, for example: INIRedirect eqclient.ini * * "eqclient-eolewis.ini" * *

Explanation:
Everything in IS is done with a command, in the console or automatically done another way, such as in "PreInit" or various other places. PreInit.iss and AutoExec.iss happen to be created by default on a clean installation. These set up WinEQ-style hotkeys and functionality, including separate ini files per profile.

To record video, the simplest way is to hit ` and then type "record". Video then records. Hit ` to close the console. Hit ` and type "endrecord" when you wish to stop recording. You can make hotkeys to do it for you, by entering other commands... example:
bind record home record
bind endrecord end endrecord
(name, key combo, command)
Then you can just hit home to begin recording, and end to end recording

showme1
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 2:47 am

Post by showme1 » Fri Feb 11, 2005 3:33 am

thx for making that a bit easier to understand, Lax!

showme1
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 2:47 am

Post by showme1 » Fri Feb 11, 2005 6:59 pm

im trying to bind num 9 key to make wow go fullscreen, what would be the command? i have tried bind num 9 Shift Alt F with no luck.
Gonna go RTFM again cause i know i missed something on this.

showme1
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 2:47 am

Post by showme1 » Fri Feb 11, 2005 7:11 pm

ok tried bind fullscreen "End" "Shift+Alt+F" with no luck trying to bind it to the end key. not sure what i'm missing now

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Fri Feb 11, 2005 7:19 pm

Shift+alt+f isn't a command :)

The easiest way you can set the key for full screen is to edit the file Scripts\PreInit.iss. For EverQuest, edit anything under "EQSession", and for every other game including WoW, edit anything under "NormalSession".

Code: Select all

function NormalSession()
{
; customize this part for other games
  alias normalsize WindowSize -viewable 1024x768
  alias tinysize WindowSize -viewable 256x192
  noparse alias normalposition WindowPos -viewable ${Display.DesktopX},${Display.DesktopY}
  noparse alias tinyposition WindowPos ${Math.Calc[${Display.DesktopX}+10].Int},${Math.Calc[${Display.DesktopY}+10].Int}
  alias fullscreenmouse
  alias normalmouse
  alias tinymouse
  alias pipforeground normal

[color=red]  bind fullscreenkey shift+alt+f fullscreen[/color]
  bind normalkey shift+alt+n normal
  bind tinykey shift+alt+t tiny
  bind next ctrl+alt+x "uplink focus -next"
  bind previous ctrl+alt+z "uplink focus -previous"
}
The line to edit is marked in red. Change shift+alt+f to say End, or "Num 9" with quotes, so then it might look like this after you're done:

Code: Select all

function NormalSession()
{
; customize this part for other games
  alias normalsize WindowSize -viewable 1024x768
  alias tinysize WindowSize -viewable 256x192
  noparse alias normalposition WindowPos -viewable ${Display.DesktopX},${Display.DesktopY}
  noparse alias tinyposition WindowPos ${Math.Calc[${Display.DesktopX}+10].Int},${Math.Calc[${Display.DesktopY}+10].Int}
  alias fullscreenmouse
  alias normalmouse
  alias tinymouse
  alias pipforeground normal

[color=red]  bind fullscreenkey "Num 9" fullscreen[/color]
  bind normalkey shift+alt+n normal
  bind tinykey shift+alt+t tiny
  bind next ctrl+alt+x "uplink focus -next"
  bind previous ctrl+alt+z "uplink focus -previous"
}

showme1
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 2:47 am

Post by showme1 » Fri Feb 11, 2005 7:20 pm

nm figured it out, it was bind fullscreenkey End fullscreen. I opened up preinit.iss and looked in there hehe. Hope I did it right?

showme1
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 2:47 am

Post by showme1 » Fri Feb 11, 2005 7:21 pm

rofl yeah i did it as you were posting that i guess. I didn't give up that easy =p

showme1
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 2:47 am

Post by showme1 » Fri Feb 11, 2005 7:22 pm

sorry for the trouble bro hehe. I'm trying my hardest to do this on my own i swear! =p

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6634
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Fri Feb 11, 2005 7:31 pm

Hey no worries, that's what I'm here for. I wish there were more questions about this stuff to be brutally honest. I don't get feedback unless it's crashing people ;)

eolewis
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 7:18 am

Post by eolewis » Fri Feb 11, 2005 9:57 pm

Be careful what you ask for Lax... if I start enjoying IS more then WinEQ 2.07, you'd NEVER get away from the boards from having to answer my questions... At least unless it becomes more user friendly then it currently is.

eolewis
GamingTools Subscriber
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 7:18 am

Post by eolewis » Fri Feb 11, 2005 10:01 pm

BTW, when I type in bind record home record in the console, it says cannot find bind command.....

Post Reply