Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

WinEQ 2.0 Lite discussion

Moderators: Lavish Software Team, Moderators

Lorentz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:02 pm

Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by Lorentz » Tue Jun 09, 2020 11:26 pm

I've been trying to play Everquest today and was only able to successfully get in one time. I haven't changed anything about my EQ or WinEQ2 setup at all, but today both EQ and WinEQ2 start up VERY slowly and now I'm not able to start Everquest at all.

It waits for a long while before an error pops up "Everquest support for WinEQ2.0 was unable to initialize at this time (-14). Please try again later" and then another error for EQPlayNice "EQPlayNice was unable to initialize at this time (-14). Please try again later." right after.

I tried restarting my computer and same problem. Here is my SysInfo.txt (not sure why it says Windows XP, I'm running Windows 10):


WinEQ 2 System Information
System:
-----------------------------------
Windows Version: Microsoft Windows XP/Service Pack 2/18362.19h1_release_svc_prod1.190628-1641
System Physical RAM: 9653/16314MB
Page File: 8978/18746MB
Virtual Memory: 1896/2047MB (Extended: 0MB)
CPU 1: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8086K CPU @ 4.00GHz @ 4008MHz
CPU 2: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8086K CPU @ 4.00GHz @ 4008MHz
CPU 3: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8086K CPU @ 4.00GHz @ 4008MHz
CPU 4: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8086K CPU @ 4.00GHz @ 4008MHz
CPU Affinity Mask: FFF
Video 1: \\.\DISPLAY1/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Video 2: \\.\DISPLAY2/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Video 3: \\.\DISPLAY3/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Video 4: \\.\DISPLAY4/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Monitor 1: \\.\DISPLAY1 (0,0,2560,1440) (2560x1440) PRIMARY
Sound: ¨
DirectX: 4.09.00.0904
Internet Explorer: 9.11.18362.0
WinEQ: 2.15

Loaded Modules:
-----------------------------------
Module 0: C:\Program Files (x86)\Sony\EverQuest\eqgame.exe
Module 1: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Module 2: C:\Windows\System32\KERNEL32.DLL
Module 3: C:\Windows\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
Module 4: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\apphelp.dll
Module 5: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\AcLayers.DLL
Module 6: C:\Windows\System32\msvcrt.dll
Module 7: C:\Windows\System32\USER32.dll
Module 8: C:\Windows\System32\win32u.dll
Module 9: C:\Windows\System32\GDI32.dll
Module 10: C:\Windows\System32\gdi32full.dll
Module 11: C:\Windows\System32\msvcp_win.dll
Module 12: C:\Windows\System32\ucrtbase.dll
Module 13: C:\Windows\System32\SHELL32.dll
Module 14: C:\Windows\System32\cfgmgr32.dll
Module 15: C:\Windows\System32\shcore.dll
Module 16: C:\Windows\System32\RPCRT4.dll
Module 17: C:\Windows\System32\SspiCli.dll
Module 18: C:\Windows\System32\CRYPTBASE.dll
Module 19: C:\Windows\System32\bcryptPrimitives.dll
Module 20: C:\Windows\System32\sechost.dll
Module 21: C:\Windows\System32\combase.dll
Module 22: C:\Windows\System32\windows.storage.dll
Module 23: C:\Windows\System32\advapi32.dll
Module 24: C:\Windows\System32\profapi.dll
Module 25: C:\Windows\System32\powrprof.dll
Module 26: C:\Windows\System32\UMPDC.dll
Module 27: C:\Windows\System32\shlwapi.dll
Module 28: C:\Windows\System32\kernel.appcore.dll
Module 29: C:\Windows\System32\cryptsp.dll
Module 30: C:\Windows\System32\OLEAUT32.dll
Module 31: C:\Windows\System32\SETUPAPI.dll
Module 32: C:\Windows\System32\bcrypt.dll
Module 33: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\MPR.dll
Module 34: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\sfc.dll
Module 35: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\WINSPOOL.DRV
Module 36: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\PROPSYS.dll
Module 37: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\IPHLPAPI.DLL
Module 38: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\sfc_os.DLL
Module 39: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\SortServer2003Compat.dll
Module 40: C:\Windows\System32\IMM32.DLL
Module 41: C:\Windows\System32\ole32.dll
Module 42: C:\Program Files (x86)\Sony\EverQuest\mss32.dll
Module 43: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\WINMM.dll
Module 44: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\WSOCK32.dll
Module 45: C:\Windows\System32\WS2_32.dll
Module 46: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\DINPUT8.dll
Module 47: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\winmmbase.dll
Module 48: C:\Program Files (x86)\Sony\EverQuest\DSETUP.dll
Module 49: C:\Windows\System32\PSAPI.DLL
Module 50: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\d3d9.dll
Module 51: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\dwmapi.dll
Module 52: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\dxcore.dll
Module 53: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\WinEQ2.dll
Module 54: C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_5.82.18362.836_none_71d337c15ae77c22\COMCTL32.dll
Module 55: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\Lavish.dll
Module 56: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\inputhost.dll
Module 57: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\wintypes.dll
Module 58: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\CoreUIComponents.dll
Module 59: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\CoreMessaging.dll
Module 60: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntmarta.dll
Module 61: C:\Windows\system32\mswsock.dll
Module 62: C:\Windows\system32\napinsp.dll
Module 63: C:\Windows\system32\pnrpnsp.dll
Module 64: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\DNSAPI.dll
Module 65: C:\Windows\System32\NSI.dll
Module 66: C:\Windows\System32\winrnr.dll
Module 67: C:\Windows\system32\NLAapi.dll
Module 68: C:\Windows\system32\wshbth.dll
Module 69: C:\Windows\System32\fwpuclnt.dll
Module 70: C:\Windows\System32\rasadhlp.dll
Module 71: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\WinEQ2-EQ.DLL
Module 72: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\MSIMG32.dll
Module 73: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\WinEQ2-D3D9.dll
Module 74: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\WinEQ2-D3D8.dll
Module 75: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\WinEQ2-DI8.dll
Module 76: C:\Windows\system32\uxtheme.dll
Module 77: C:\Windows\System32\MSCTF.dll
Module 78: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\EQPlayNice.dll
Module 79: C:\Windows\System32\TextInputFramework.dll

Direct3D9:
-----------------------------------
Adapter Display Mode: 0x0 D3DFMT_UNKNOWN
Game Display Mode: 0x0 D3DFMT_UNKNOWN (Windowed)
Current Adapter: 0
Available Texture Memory: (not currently available)
Direct3D8:
-----------------------------------
Adapter Display Mode: 0x0 D3DFMT_UNKNOWN
Game Display Mode: 0x0 D3DFMT_UNKNOWN
Current Adapter: 0
Available Texture Memory: (not currently available)
DirectInput8:
-----------------------------------

EQPlayNice:
-----------------------------------
EQPlayNice version: 1.22
EQ Version: eqgame.exe Oct 31 2005 10:33:37
Foreground
Mode: FPS Limiter
Max FPS: 60
Rendering: 1/1
Background
Mode: FPS Limiter
Max FPS: 25
Rendering: 1/1

jtt25c
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by jtt25c » Tue Jun 09, 2020 11:39 pm

same issue here

Klimtog
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 11:38 pm

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by Klimtog » Wed Jun 10, 2020 7:29 am

Same problem

Serona
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:01 am

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by Serona » Wed Jun 10, 2020 7:35 am

Same problem

Arcturio
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 10:13 pm

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by Arcturio » Wed Jun 10, 2020 8:49 am

Same problem.

Arcturio
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 10:13 pm

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by Arcturio » Wed Jun 10, 2020 9:17 am

Fixed it by doing the following:
1) Copied WinEQ-EQ.ini to desktop to preserve WinEQ's EQ settings
2) Uninstalled WinEQ2 by running uninst-wineq2.exe in the WinEQ2 folder
3) Reinstalled WinEQ2 and launched WinEQ2 and it quickly downloads patches.
4) Close WinEQ2, copy WinEQ-EQ.ini back to WinEQ2 folder

Lorentz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by Lorentz » Wed Jun 10, 2020 1:14 pm

Tried that but it's still crazy slow. It's been 10 minutes and still trying to start up.

Is it something to do with the network connectivity with Lavish's servers and maybe you just happened to get lucky? Or is it still fast for you?

wkryan
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 12:11 am

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by wkryan » Wed Jun 10, 2020 1:21 pm

This is what i get after a long time then it asks for login.
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (28.46 KiB) Viewed 1516 times

panatsche
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:59 am

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by panatsche » Wed Jun 10, 2020 1:25 pm

Same problem.

Jagorix
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:24 pm

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by Jagorix » Wed Jun 10, 2020 1:59 pm

Yep same issue here. Tried to reinstall trick but that just took forever as well as I'm assuming there are issues with their servers.

Arcturio
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 10:13 pm

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by Arcturio » Wed Jun 10, 2020 2:14 pm

Arcturio wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 9:17 am
Fixed it by doing the following:
1) Copied WinEQ-EQ.ini to desktop to preserve WinEQ's EQ settings
2) Uninstalled WinEQ2 by running uninst-wineq2.exe in the WinEQ2 folder
3) Reinstalled WinEQ2 and launched WinEQ2 and it quickly downloads patches.
4) Close WinEQ2, copy WinEQ-EQ.ini back to WinEQ2 folder
So, an update. Opening account sessions is hit or miss. It has to be an authentication problem with Lavish's servers.

DrunkOnNyQuil
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 2:16 pm

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by DrunkOnNyQuil » Wed Jun 10, 2020 2:32 pm

Same problem here.

Lorentz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by Lorentz » Wed Jun 10, 2020 2:35 pm

What I don't understand is why it has to talk to a server every time you do anything. The initial login, sure, but why for anything after that?

Arcturio
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 10:13 pm

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by Arcturio » Wed Jun 10, 2020 2:44 pm

Lorentz wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 2:35 pm
What I don't understand is why it has to talk to a server every time you do anything. The initial login, sure, but why for anything after that?
It would honestly be more efficient for them to use cached credentials that expire in a week or two. It would cut down on the authentication load on their servers. It would also prevent this situation where the program is rendered useless should they have a technical problem on their end.

Lorentz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: Suddenly very slow and "unable to initialize" error

Post by Lorentz » Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:10 pm

Arcturio wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 2:44 pm
It would honestly be more efficient for them to use cached credentials that expire in a week or two. It would cut down on the authentication load on their servers. It would also prevent this situation where the program is rendered useless should they have a technical problem on their end.
Agreed. Also, I really wish I hadn't tried reinstalling like you suggested lol. The EQ settings were preserved sorta, but something is different now. It doesn't look "crisp" like it did before, like it's being stretched or something. I can't for the life of me remember what I did to make it look crisp on a 4k monitor without everything being so tiny that I can't see it :(

Post Reply