Global Activation Hotkey not working

WinEQ 2.0 Lite discussion

Moderators: Lavish Software Team, Moderators

Post Reply
ibyish
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:48 pm

Global Activation Hotkey not working

Post by ibyish » Fri May 12, 2017 11:42 am

So I've used WinEQ before on my other laptop, but I can't get the hotkeys to work on this one.

For example, I have set:

1st Profile Global Activation Hotkey = DELETE

~I've tried setting it in the profile "Global Activation Hotkey = DELETE" or leaving that on AUTO and setting it in the Hotkeys section.

~My delete key is not a part of the numpad or a laptop function key.

~I've tried with numlock, capslock, and scroll lock on/off. I turned off all the other programs running in the background to the extent i can.

~I can't seem to disable my touchpad software.

Did I just miss something stupid? Has anyone else had this problem? Thanks!

ibyish
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:48 pm

Post by ibyish » Fri May 12, 2017 11:49 am

Update:

The delete key is working for Profile 1.


Profile 2: Home
3: End
4: Page Up
5: Page Down


These other 4 are still not working. Spelling, capitalization, and spacing are same as the hotkey name list.

ibyish
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:48 pm

Post by ibyish » Fri May 12, 2017 12:41 pm

i can get delete, F10, F11, and Sys Req button to bind, but F12 and left arrow will not work for a bind. This is weird.

ibyish
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:48 pm

Post by ibyish » Fri May 12, 2017 4:50 pm

i found this topic, which seems to be a similar issue? But i have not found a workable solution.

http://www.lavishsoft.com/forum/viewtop ... ab4c42c526

I'd ideally like to find 5 keys that work on the right side of my keyboard so i can switch back and forth. Preferably all next to each other & in order so I can keep track of which is which.



Wasn't sure this stuff was relevant but I guess I'll just add it anyways

GAME: Everquest 1

SYS INFO:


WinEQ 2 System Information
System:
-----------------------------------
Windows Version: Windows 10 Home//14393.rs1_release_sec.170427-1353
System Physical RAM: 11741/16297MB
Page File: 13558/18729MB
Virtual Memory: 3797/4095MB (Extended: 0MB)
CPU 1: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5500U CPU @ 2.40GHz @ 2394MHz
CPU 2: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5500U CPU @ 2.40GHz @ 2394MHz
CPU 3: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5500U CPU @ 2.40GHz @ 2394MHz
CPU 4: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5500U CPU @ 2.40GHz @ 2394MHz
CPU Affinity Mask: 4
Video 1: \\.\DISPLAY1/Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500
Video 2: \\.\DISPLAY2/Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500
Video 3: \\.\DISPLAY3/Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500
Video 4: \\.\DISPLAY4/AMD Radeon R9 M275X
Monitor 1: \\.\DISPLAY1 (0,0,1920,1080) (1920x1080) PRIMARY
Sound: ¨
DirectX: 4.09.00.0904
Internet Explorer: 9.11.14393.0
WinEQ: 2.15

Loaded Modules:
-----------------------------------
Module 0: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\eqgame.exe
Module 1: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Module 2: C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNEL32.DLL
Module 3: C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
Module 4: C:\WINDOWS\system32\apphelp.dll
Module 5: C:\WINDOWS\System32\USER32.dll
Module 6: C:\WINDOWS\System32\win32u.dll
Module 7: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\mss32.dll
Module 8: C:\WINDOWS\System32\GDI32.dll
Module 9: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINMM.dll
Module 10: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WSOCK32.dll
Module 11: C:\WINDOWS\System32\gdi32full.dll
Module 12: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DINPUT8.dll
Module 13: C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcrt.dll
Module 14: C:\WINDOWS\System32\WS2_32.dll
Module 15: C:\WINDOWS\System32\ADVAPI32.dll
Module 16: C:\WINDOWS\System32\SHELL32.dll
Module 17: C:\WINDOWS\System32\sechost.dll
Module 18: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3dx9_43.dll
Module 19: C:\WINDOWS\System32\RPCRT4.dll
Module 20: C:\WINDOWS\System32\cfgmgr32.dll
Module 21: C:\WINDOWS\System32\SspiCli.dll
Module 22: C:\WINDOWS\System32\windows.storage.dll
Module 23: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\xul.dll
Module 24: C:\WINDOWS\System32\CRYPTBASE.dll
Module 25: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WININET.dll
Module 26: C:\WINDOWS\System32\bcryptPrimitives.dll
Module 27: C:\WINDOWS\System32\combase.dll
Module 28: C:\WINDOWS\System32\ole32.dll
Module 29: C:\WINDOWS\System32\ucrtbase.dll
Module 30: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\nspr4.dll
Module 31: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\steam_api.dll
Module 32: C:\WINDOWS\System32\powrprof.dll
Module 33: C:\WINDOWS\System32\shlwapi.dll
Module 34: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINMMBASE.dll
Module 35: C:\WINDOWS\System32\comdlg32.dll
Module 36: C:\WINDOWS\System32\kernel.appcore.dll
Module 37: C:\WINDOWS\System32\shcore.dll
Module 38: C:\WINDOWS\System32\profapi.dll
Module 39: C:\WINDOWS\System32\IMM32.dll
Module 40: C:\WINDOWS\System32\PSAPI.DLL
Module 41: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\js3250.dll
Module 42: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\plc4.dll
Module 43: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\plds4.dll
Module 44: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\MSVCR71.dll
Module 45: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VERSION.dll
Module 46: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINSPOOL.DRV
Module 47: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\IPHLPAPI.DLL
Module 48: C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_5.82.14393.447_none_5507ded2cb4f7f4c\COMCTL32.dll
Module 49: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\bcrypt.dll
Module 50: C:\WINDOWS\system32\mswsock.dll
Module 51: C:\WINDOWS\system32\uxtheme.dll
Module 52: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\EQPlayNice.dll
Module 53: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\Lavish.dll
Module 54: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\WinEQ2.dll
Module 55: C:\WINDOWS\system32\napinsp.dll
Module 56: C:\WINDOWS\system32\pnrpnsp.dll
Module 57: C:\WINDOWS\system32\NLAapi.dll
Module 58: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DNSAPI.dll
Module 59: C:\WINDOWS\System32\NSI.dll
Module 60: C:\WINDOWS\System32\winrnr.dll
Module 61: C:\WINDOWS\System32\wshbth.dll
Module 62: C:\WINDOWS\System32\fwpuclnt.dll
Module 63: C:\Windows\System32\rasadhlp.dll
Module 64: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\WinEQ2-EQ.DLL
Module 65: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSIMG32.dll
Module 66: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\WinEQ2-D3D9.dll
Module 67: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3d9.dll
Module 68: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\dwmapi.dll
Module 69: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\WinEQ2-D3D8.dll
Module 70: C:\Program Files (x86)\WinEQ2\WinEQ2-DI8.dll
Module 71: C:\WINDOWS\System32\MSCTF.dll
Module 72: C:\WINDOWS\System32\OLEAUT32.dll
Module 73: C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcp_win.dll
Module 74: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\EQGraphicsDX9.DLL
Module 75: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3dx10_43.dll
Module 76: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\dpvs.dll
Module 77: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest\eqmain.dll
Module 78: C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\c0313248.inf_amd64_aad49543f8f714a1\aticfx32.dll
Module 79: C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\c0313248.inf_amd64_aad49543f8f714a1\atiu9pag.dll
Module 80: C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\c0313248.inf_amd64_aad49543f8f714a1\atiumdag.dll
Module 81: C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\c0313248.inf_amd64_aad49543f8f714a1\atiumdva.dll
Module 82: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\HID.DLL
Module 83: C:\WINDOWS\System32\SETUPAPI.DLL
Module 84: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DEVOBJ.dll
Module 85: C:\WINDOWS\System32\WINTRUST.dll
Module 86: C:\WINDOWS\System32\MSASN1.dll
Module 87: C:\WINDOWS\System32\CRYPT32.dll

Direct3D9:
-----------------------------------
Driver: AMD Radeon R9 M275X/aticfx32.dll/22/19/157/3
Adapter Display Mode: 1920x1080 D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8
Game Display Mode: 1920x1080 D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 (Full Screen)
Current Adapter: 0
Available Texture Memory: 4073MB
Direct3D8:
-----------------------------------
Adapter Display Mode: 0x0 D3DFMT_UNKNOWN
Game Display Mode: 0x0 D3DFMT_UNKNOWN
Current Adapter: 0
Available Texture Memory: (not currently available)
DirectInput8:
-----------------------------------

EverQuest:
-----------------------------------
Profile 5: 5
EQ Path: C:\Users\Public\Daybreak Game Company\Installed Games\EverQuest
EQClient.ini: .\eqclient.ini
Patch: OFF Server Type: Normal Locale: us
Video Adapter: Application Controlled
Luclin models: 0 (+0 min RAM)
Texture Quality: 1. HIGH (+32 min RAM)
Calculated minimum RAM: 315MB (BASE+32MB)
Level of Detail: 0
MaxFPS: 150
Additional setting: VertexShaders=TRUE
Additional setting: 20PixelShaders=TRUE

EQPlayNice:
-----------------------------------
EQPlayNice version: 1.22
EQ Version: eqgame.exe May 9 2017 22:08:12
Foreground
Mode: FPS Limiter
Max FPS: 40
Rendering: 1/1
Background
Mode: CPU Limiter
Max FPS: 30
Rendering: 1/30

ibyish
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:48 pm

Post by ibyish » Fri May 19, 2017 3:22 am

update:

still haven't figured this out.

Complete list of buttons that I cannot get to bind:
Home
Pause
End
Break
Page Up
Scroll Lock
Page Down
Insert
Left Arrow
Right Arrow
F12

Buttons that work:
Delete
Sys Req
F11
F10
F9


Is there some way to determine what the key is registering as to WinEQ? The buttons work in everything else... windows functions, games, etc.

Thanks

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6632
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Fri May 19, 2017 5:42 am

Global Activation Hotkeys are implemented as Windows Hotkeys. Windows decides what keys are allowed, and will also reject any key already registered as a Windows Hotkey (or that would interfere with your general use of your PC).

Your list of buttons looks like a list of buttons with special meanings that are probably reserved by Windows so that -- for example -- programs cannot block your ability to use the Delete key by registering it as a global hotkey.

F12 is a special case, Microsoft documents this button as being reserved for debuggers.
~I can't seem to disable my touchpad software.
Your touchpad software is not related to these hotkeys but if you want to disable your touchpad, my suggestion is to go into the touchpad properties and find the option that disables it automatically when a USB mouse is plugged in. Best touchpad setting ever ;)

ibyish
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:48 pm

Post by ibyish » Fri May 19, 2017 2:33 pm

Ahh thank you for the response!
Global Activation Hotkeys are implemented as Windows Hotkeys. Windows decides what keys are allowed, and will also reject any key already registered as a Windows Hotkey (or that would interfere with your general use of your PC).

Your list of buttons looks like a list of buttons with special meanings that are probably reserved by Windows so that -- for example -- programs cannot block your ability to use the Delete key by registering it as a global hotkey.
So is there a workaround for this? Do I need to unbind it from a windows hotkey? Or just nothing i can do here?

It's just so weird I was able to bind these keys on my other laptop.



And btw Thanks for your work & thanks for your help! The program is otherwise such a great tool and i have enjoyed boxing with it immensely.

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6632
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Sat May 20, 2017 9:17 am

So is there a workaround for this? Do I need to unbind it from a windows hotkey? Or just nothing i can do here?

It's just so weird I was able to bind these keys on my other laptop.
Is your other laptop using a different version of Windows?

Most of your list does not seem to be blocked by my Windows (I am able to register most of them as a Hotkey, though a few of your listed keys may not be recognized with those given names.) so it is entirely possible that some software you're running has registered it. To unregister a global Hotkey you must know the software that registered it AND an internal ID number that software used to register it -- it is generally going to be easier just to shut down that software.

I guess I can't rule out that it could be your touchpad software, but I would suspect something else.


You want 5 keys on the right side of your keyboard, are you already using the numpad for something? num 7, num 8, num 9, num 4, num 5, num 6, num 1, num 2, num 3 all work in my testing, if you have num lock on.

ibyish
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:48 pm

Post by ibyish » Wed May 24, 2017 1:47 pm

Is your other laptop using a different version of Windows?
Nope, it was win10 also. Yeah, it's weird!
You want 5 keys on the right side of your keyboard, are you already using the numpad for something? num 7, num 8, num 9, num 4, num 5, num 6, num 1, num 2, num 3 all work in my testing, if you have num lock on.
Yeah, unfortunately this laptop is a bit smaller. It doesn't have the full numpad.
Most of your list does not seem to be blocked by my Windows (I am able to register most of them as a Hotkey, though a few of your listed keys may not be recognized with those given names.) so it is entirely possible that some software you're running has registered it. To unregister a global Hotkey you must know the software that registered it AND an internal ID number that software used to register it -- it is generally going to be easier just to shut down that software.

I guess I can't rule out that it could be your touchpad software, but I would suspect something else.
Ok so I just disabled all of that too because I rarely/never use the touchpad anyway. only thing even running is windows defender:
Image

Now here's the kicker: Sys Req works with EQ1, but I went ahead and installed EQ2, and it doesn't work there. My Sys Req key picks up within EQ2 as Print Screen, but even when I disabled that function, the Sys Req key still doesn't work to switch tabs. :? :?

ibyish
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:48 pm

Post by ibyish » Wed May 24, 2017 2:25 pm

Update:

So I found an option in my graphics card tray to "turn off hotkeys" and I got super excited thinking I had found it, but that did nothing. lol But it makes me wonder if there is some hidden laptop hotkey menu somewhere lurking in the depths of my windows.

EQ1 ~ the side hotkeys & f12 still don't work.

EQ2 ~ I just tried making sure both the 1st and 2nd profile had all the same settings. I turned off patching for the 2nd profile, because I noticed that if it started from the patcher the window title didn't match what I had specified. Lo and behold, this fixed it!!! Delete & Sys Req now both work for EQ2.

EQ1 all profiles have the patcher off, so I guess this win isn't exactly transferrable. But it's interesting.

ibyish
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:48 pm

Post by ibyish » Fri Jun 02, 2017 3:51 am

So I got it working!!!

with wineq2.0 and autohotkey working in conjunction, which is probably not the most efficient thing to do but it seems to be working so far.

1. I named the windows in wineq "EQ#1" giving each window a consecutive number 1-5

2. script in ahk:

Delete::
WinActivate, EQ #1
Return

Home::
WinActivate, EQ #2
Return

End::
WinActivate, EQ #3
Return

PgUp::
WinActivate, EQ #4
Return

PgDn::
WinActivate, EQ #5
Return

^Escape::
ExitApp
Return



Thanks for all the help!

Post Reply