Access problems with Website and Software

General discussions

Moderator: Lavish Software Team

Locked
Aznar
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:02 pm

Access problems with Website and Software

Post by Aznar » Sat Oct 23, 2004 1:28 pm

I've sent you an email on this but am posting here too.

I'm having a problem with all your software and your website on my gaming router. I'm currently posting with dial-up.

First off I can't access the website (www.lavishsoft.com). For testing purposes I pinged it finding out I'm having 50% loss with your website. Sometimes its able to pull up half a page, but then I'm cut off.

Second off both WinEQ and EQplaynice give me "Unable to authenticate, please close out and try again. -13 or -14" Neither will connect to your server.

Now I'm not sure if its any better today. I am heading over to test it in a few mins and will post back here if its better. But as of right now there must be either:

A break in the network between my network and yours, causing information to be lost.

An IP block on myside.

An IP block on yourside.


Right now I'm leaning toword an IP block on myside, but I've never had my ISP restrict IPs. I wanted to bring this up here first because your website and software are the only thing I'm experiencing any problems with. I've double checked router settings and large number of other things, but so far no luck and I'm fairly sure its outside of my router/computer controll.

Thanks for any help you can give or information Lax. Don't mean to be rude, just utterly confused on whats going on. And preparing to be very upset with my ISP provider.

Aznar

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6632
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Sat Oct 23, 2004 1:57 pm

Hello, I received and read your email, and received a similar email from one other person as well yesterday. It's not an IP block on either end, but some strange routing problem that should be cleared up. The other person that emailed me about it sent this traceroute

Bad route

Code: Select all

Tracing route to lavishsoft.com [66.55.137.119] over a maximum of 30 hops:
 1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.0.1
 2     9 ms     9 ms    10 ms  12.244.94.161
 3    11 ms    13 ms    14 ms  12.244.71.137
 4    14 ms    14 ms    14 ms  12.125.159.149
 5    14 ms    15 ms    15 ms  gbr1-p70.dvmco.ip.att.net &#91;12.123.36.74&#93;
 6    14 ms    21 ms    20 ms  gbr4-p70.dvmco.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.5.21&#93;
 7    37 ms    49 ms    37 ms  tbr1-p012402.cgcil.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.10.117&#93;
 8    51 ms    50 ms    52 ms  tbr1-cl1.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.10.1&#93;
 9    51 ms    50 ms    58 ms  gbr1-p10.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.11.2&#93;
10    53 ms    51 ms    50 ms  gar1-p360.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.123.1.129&#93;
11    51 ms    51 ms    50 ms  12.125.51.74
12    51 ms    55 ms    52 ms  border27.ge4-1-bbnet2.nyc.pnap.net &#91;209.191.128.160&#93;
13    58 ms    54 ms    91 ms  choopa-1.border27.nyc.pnap.net &#91;209.191.130.106&#93;
14    58 ms    58 ms    53 ms  626.gig1-3.cr2.jrcy01.choopa.net &#91;64.237.32.25&#93;
15    56 ms    57 ms    59 ms  626.gig1-1.cr1.jrcy01.choopa.net &#91;64.237.32.54&#93;
16    54 ms    58 ms    55 ms  gige.jerseycity.foundrynap.com &#91;64.237.32.10&#93;
17   166 ms     *       58 ms  66.55.137.119.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.119&#93;
18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
19     *       63 ms     *     66.55.137.119.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.119&#93;
20     *        *       54 ms  66.55.137.119.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.119&#93;
21    54 ms     *       56 ms  66.55.137.119.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.119&#93;
Trace complete.
And here's my traceroute, which is a good route

Code: Select all

Tracing route to lavishsoft.com &#91;66.55.137.119&#93;
over a maximum of 30 hops&#58;

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    11 ms     9 ms    13 ms  10.188.26.1
  3    11 ms    11 ms    14 ms  12.244.86.1
  4    29 ms    17 ms    17 ms  12.118.112.9
  5    17 ms    18 ms    17 ms  tbr1-p012401.dtrmi.ip.att.net &#91;12.123.139.53&#93;
  6    30 ms    29 ms    30 ms  tbr2-cl1.phlpa.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.10.38&#93;
  7    36 ms    29 ms    41 ms  tbr1-p013601.phlpa.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.9.165&#93;
  8    38 ms    38 ms    42 ms  tbr1-cl8.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.2.17&#93;
  9    44 ms    37 ms    38 ms  gbr2-p10.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.11.6&#93;
 10    32 ms    34 ms    35 ms  gar1-p370.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.123.1.133&#93;
 11    39 ms    38 ms    33 ms  12.125.51.74
 12    37 ms    37 ms    39 ms  border27.ge3-1-bbnet1.nyc.pnap.net &#91;209.191.128.96&#93;
 13    32 ms    50 ms    35 ms  choopa-1.border27.nyc.pnap.net &#91;209.191.130.106&#93;

 14    38 ms    40 ms    37 ms  626.gig1-3.cr2.jrcy01.choopa.net &#91;64.237.32.25&#93;

 15    40 ms    39 ms    37 ms  626.gig1-1.cr1.jrcy01.choopa.net &#91;64.237.32.54&#93;

 16    35 ms    39 ms    33 ms  gige.jerseycity.foundrynap.com &#91;64.237.32.10&#93;
 17    35 ms    37 ms    44 ms  66.55.137.119.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.119&#93;

Trace complete.
Note that both traceroutes are from COMCAST.NET, but from different locations on their network. It's interesting to note that hop 11 is the first equivalent router, and then 13 14 15 16 and 17 are all equal... however... hop 12 is different, and on the other person's traceroute they seem to get 5 hops at the destination :shock: I really can't explain either of those, but my guess is that border27.ge4-1-bbnet1.nyc.pnap.net was having problems yesterday, causing some weird issues for some people. Does your route pass through that router?
Last edited by Lax on Sun Oct 24, 2004 12:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6632
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Sat Oct 23, 2004 10:49 pm

We are discussing this problem with our host and as far as we can tell it's something weird with comcast's routing, but only for some people. I'm a comcast user and have no problems, but now I've talked to 3 that have trouble (all on comcast). Hopefully it gets sorted out as soon as possible, but again its beyond our control :(

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6632
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Sun Oct 24, 2004 12:47 pm

Bad route #2

Code: Select all

Tracing route to &#40;another site in the same location as lavishsoft.com&#41; &#91;66.55.137.124&#93;
over a maximum of 30 hops&#58;
1 * * * Request timed out.
2 16 ms 13 ms 13 ms 12.244.26.97
3 13 ms 14 ms 15 ms 12.125.159.77
4 14 ms 13 ms 15 ms gbr1-p70.dvmco.ip.att.net &#91;12.123.36.74&#93;
5 14 ms 13 ms 15 ms gbr4-p70.dvmco.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.5.21&#93;
6 33 ms 31 ms 32 ms tbr1-p012402.cgcil.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.10.117&#93;
7 52 ms 52 ms 51 ms tbr1-cl1.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.10.1&#93;
8 51 ms 49 ms 51 ms gbr1-p10.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.11.2&#93;
9 51 ms 53 ms 52 ms gar1-p360.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.123.1.129&#93;
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 52 ms 50 ms 51 ms border27.ge4-1-bbnet2.nyc.pnap.net &#91;209.191.128.160&#93;
12 52 ms 52 ms 54 ms choopa-1.border27.nyc.pnap.net &#91;209.191.130.106&#93;
13 52 ms 52 ms 69 ms 626.gig1-1.cr1.jrcy01.choopa.net &#91;64.237.32.29&#93;
14 51 ms 54 ms 52 ms 626.gig1-1.cr1.jrcy01.choopa.net &#91;64.237.32.54&#93;
15 53 ms 51 ms 50 ms gige.jerseycity.foundrynap.com &#91;64.237.32.10&#93;
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * 55 ms 66.55.137.124.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.124&#93;
Trace complete.
Bad route #3

Code: Select all

Tracing route to www.lavishsoft.com &#91;66.55.137.119&#93;

over a maximum of 30 hops&#58;



  1    13 ms    44 ms    11 ms  10.10.96.1 
  2    37 ms    11 ms    12 ms  10.10.96.1 
  3    13 ms    11 ms    10 ms  12-220-6-145.client.insightBB.com
&#91;12.220.6.145&#93;
  4    16 ms    14 ms    14 ms  12-220-1-166.client.insightBB.com
&#91;12.220.1.166&#93;
  5    22 ms    21 ms    22 ms  12-220-0-34.client.insightBB.com &#91;12.220.0.34&#93; 
  6    23 ms    34 ms    22 ms  gbr6-p80.sl9mo.ip.att.net &#91;12.123.24.238&#93; 
  7    22 ms    21 ms    23 ms  tbr2-p013601.sl9mo.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.11.125&#93; 
  8    31 ms    30 ms    29 ms  tbr2-cl7.cgcil.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.10.45&#93; 
  9    33 ms    30 ms    30 ms  tbr1-cl2.cgcil.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.9.133&#93; 
 10    51 ms    48 ms    51 ms  tbr1-cl1.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.10.1&#93; 
 11    46 ms    47 ms    49 ms  gbr1-p10.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.122.11.2&#93; 
 12    50 ms    47 ms    50 ms  gar1-p360.n54ny.ip.att.net &#91;12.123.1.129&#93; 
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14    50 ms    53 ms    51 ms  border27.ge3-1-bbnet1.nyc.pnap.net
&#91;209.191.128.96&#93;
 15    49 ms    50 ms    50 ms  choopa-1.border27.nyc.pnap.net
&#91;209.191.130.106&#93;
 16    48 ms    47 ms    48 ms  626.gig1-1.cr1.jrcy01.choopa.net &#91;64.237.32.29&#93; 
 17    48 ms    48 ms    49 ms  626.gig1-1.cr1.jrcy01.choopa.net &#91;64.237.32.54&#93; 
 18    49 ms    50 ms    47 ms  gige.jerseycity.foundrynap.com &#91;64.237.32.10&#93; 
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20    51 ms     *        *     66.55.137.119.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.119&#93; 
 21     *       49 ms     *     66.55.137.119.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.119&#93; 
 22    76 ms     *        *     66.55.137.119.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.119&#93; 
 23     *       46 ms     *     66.55.137.119.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.119&#93; 
 24    50 ms     *        *     66.55.137.119.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.119&#93; 
 25     *        *       47 ms  66.55.137.119.gigabits.us &#91;66.55.137.119&#93; 

Trace complete.
Bad route #3 goes through border27.ge3-1-bbnet1.nyc.pnap.net instead of ge4-1-bbnet1 so it's definitely not that hop :) Please submit your traceroute if you are experiencing this problem. thanks

Aznar
Non-Subscriber
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:02 pm

Post by Aznar » Sun Oct 24, 2004 5:42 pm

Ok doing better, I'm able to connect to the website now and testing EQ as I type. As for the trace I'm still bugging out at one location, just after:

gar1-p370.n54ny.ip.att.net

But with just that one drop its ok now. I can acess the website from this location now. EQ is running fine again and everything is authenticating correctly.
Tracing route to 66.55.137.119.gigabits.us [66.55.137.119]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 10 ms 12 ms 11 ms gw.gcmuni.net [12.169.2.1]
2 25 ms 18 ms 19 ms 12.126.82.117
3 36 ms 34 ms 30 ms gbr1-p51.sl9mo.ip.att.net [12.123.198.138]
4 41 ms 35 ms 41 ms tbr1-p012502.sl9mo.ip.att.net [12.122.11.97]
5 46 ms 60 ms 47 ms tbr1-cl4.wswdc.ip.att.net [12.122.10.29]
6 46 ms 64 ms 47 ms tbr2-p013601.wswdc.ip.att.net [12.122.9.150]
7 71 ms 62 ms 52 ms tbr2-cl1.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.122.10.53]
8 61 ms 65 ms 63 ms gbr2-p20.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.122.11.22]
9 62 ms 71 ms 66 ms gar1-p370.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.123.1.133]
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 59 ms 58 ms 59 ms border27.ge3-1-bbnet1.nyc.pnap.net [209.191.128.96]
12 60 ms 62 ms 63 ms choopa-1.border27.nyc.pnap.net [209.191.130.106]
13 60 ms 64 ms 61 ms 626.gig1-1.cr1.jrcy01.choopa.net [64.237.32.29]
14 64 ms 73 ms 64 ms 626.gig1-1.cr1.jrcy01.choopa.net [64.237.32.54]
15 61 ms 62 ms 59 ms gige.jerseycity.foundrynap.com [64.237.32.10]
16 60 ms 68 ms 59 ms 66.55.137.119.gigabits.us [66.55.137.119]

Trace complete.
So what ever you did or didn't do things are working again (gives thumbs up). And my ISP is privately owned by our town (Grunder Center Municiple). Weird, but thanks Lax nice job :wink:

Lax
Owner
Posts: 6632
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Lax » Sun Oct 24, 2004 5:48 pm

Some people get ICMP blocking from that hop, others don't. Depends on your ISP I guess, but it does look like your issue is fixed. Glad to see that. Have fun :)

Locked